WELCOME!

I’ve been wanting to create a blog in order to record my homeschooling experience for myself (instead of hoarding piles and piles of papers) and for anyone interested in homeschooling, either to see what its all about or to have some insight for their own homeschooling journey. Making the decision for educating your own children is difficult regardless who you are or where you come from. I myself am in an area where it is pretty foreign to homeschool. I have been actively searching for anyone in the area where we live so I can have some type of a support group or monthly get together for the kids but have come up empty handed.

Everyone, everywhere has their own individual reasons on why they do anything, from work to play and everything in between. We all accomplish tasks in our own unique ways. This is true also for our educating children. I believe its the protective gene in us Mothers that makes our opinions hold such a great weight, that it is sometimes difficult to change our minds when it comes to our children’s upbringing. However, regardless in the way we raise our children, we all do it the way we believe is right and best for us. One of my inspirations came by the reality TV show about the Duggar family’s journey through life. I find it amazing that they can raise children with innocence and morals in today’s day and age as well as in one of the most morally corrupted countries in the world. I believe that most of their success lies in the choice to homeschool their children.

I remember when I found out I was first pregnant, how excited I felt and how much I anticipated the birth of my baby. I was picturing days out at the park, pretty dresses, ice cream, rainbows, joy and laughter. Four children and 10 years later I have realized the enormous responsibility and weight of raising another human being dependent on you to learn the ins and outs of this world. There are times when I feel like my child is a fish amongst sharks and times when I feel like my child is a lion amongst lambs. Those days when I feel the former are so nerve racking that I can literally feel my hair receding. Yet, those days when I feel the latter I can’t even put into words the pride, love and gratitude I have at that moment, that I truly become blissfully amnesic of all the hardships that have brought me to that point in my life.

That is one of the beauties after all of being human. Isn’t it? That we are forgetful creatures. Which brings me to why I have decided to create this blog. God willing, I am hoping that perhaps I shall have some place to remember my trials, successes and errors as a parent, and join a community which I am looking forward to listening to their advice or positive criticism (I hope!). This is all in order for me to become the best parent or person I can be and to help others where I can as I go through the many techniques I am learning as a parent and homeschooler.

To acquire knowledge one must study. To acquire wisdom one must observe.’ย 

Marilyn Vos Savant

5 thoughts on “WELCOME!

  1. Hello ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome to blogland. I applaud your decision to homeschool your children – it was something I wanted to do for my two children, but wasn’t allowed, ha! Anyway, I have just made a new blog as well – not about homeschooling, but maybe through time you might find a crafty post or two to share with your children.

  2. Hey, thank you for your welcome. I’ve always been a bit of an old soul so I’ve had an aversion to technology for so long. I have a problem just keeping my mobile on me and still carry around pads of paper for notes :s, but I am determined to fix this and become more technology savvy. I’m just starting to get into blogging and will be sure to check out your page. We all love projects and crafts!

Leave a Reply

