New Year, New Changes and Challenges

I have had the opportunity during the past couple weeks to spend some quality time with family, both close and distant. We seldom meet all together as we are a very large family. On one night alone, I ended up making dinner for 28 people! Yet, despite the stress and very hectic atmosphere it is something I always look forward to. It is a chance to sit down and see how everyone is really doing.

I managed to spend some time reflecting on ‘life’ with my family. I don’t know if it is just me but I am usually reminded of my childhood whenever I am surrounded by the family I grew up with. I find it amazing to compare our youthful dreams for the future and our adult reality. Despite having grown up together under similar circumstances, each of my family members have turned out very different and unique.

Fortunately as I am a homeschooling mother my days are very packed and very busy so I do not have much time for the world outside of my house. However, I have noticed that many of my family are struggling with the daily pressures of the working ‘outside’ world. My sister was just telling me that although she has the illusion of a successful life, a good job, a loyal boyfriend and a comfortable home, she doesn’t feel happy and successful, rather is filled with unease and regret. She has been asking for advice on how to change her life into one she can be proud of. I know this is not unique to her and that many people feel this same way. I’m sure it’s also due to the pressure of the new year resolutions bringing along with them judgement and expectations.

I was very stumped by this talk and was really at a loss for words. I have seen the signs recently of my sisters increased unhappiness and despite my sporadic advice I have been feeling very guilty and helpless. Nevertheless, I find it very difficult to help certain people as the only ‘life’ advice I have for anyone involves God and not everyone believes in Him. I don’t like to impose my beliefs on anyone and have always struggled to find that balance between inviting others to the Truth and preaching. Therefore I am at a loss as to how I can help people feel proud about their life choices. All I know is that I have the opportunity now to help my sister before she gets in a more desperate state. I myself have felt such desolation at one point in my life that I was filled with such hopelessness and I don’t want my sister to experience that. Regardless, I am grateful for that point in my life because it led me to finding meaning and purpose in life through God.

Please let me know what you all think about this. I would be very grateful for any advice.

“The world is 3 days: As for yesterday, it has vanished along with all that was in it. As for tomorrow, you may never see it. As for today, it is yours, so work on it.”
Hasan Al-Basri

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Changes and Challenges

  1. “I was very stumped by this talk and was really at a loss for words. I have seen the signs recently of my sisters increased unhappiness and despite my sporadic advice I have been feeling very guilty and helpless. Nevertheless, I find it very difficult to help certain people as the only ‘life’ advice I have for anyone involves God and not everyone believes in Him. I don’t like to impose my beliefs on anyone and have always struggled to find that balance between inviting others to the Truth and preaching.”

    my sentiments exactly. Especially since most people need to figure out their answers for themselves….when I was working as a counselor I quickly learned that simply telling someone what I thought was pretty much worthless because they would only learn things when they figured it out at their own pace……listening is pretty much all we can usually do….coupled with asking questions that help the other person think in a ‘new direction’…. 🙂

  2. Thank you for the advice! I have been listening to her in order to give her an outlet to talk about her angst without judgement. You actually reminded me about the skills and techniques I have been learning with my NLP life coaching course. I don’t know why I didn’t think about questioning or coaching her to help guide her to reflect about what she needs changing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

